Benefits of Membership
Honours and Awards
Committee Members and Meetings
Technical Programme
Exhibition & Conference
Other Sections and Links

1978 - 2008
30th Anniversary of Section Charter

Presidents ISA Ireland
This historic photo of ISA Ireland Presidents was taken at the 30th Anniversary of Charter Dinner held on 8th November 2008.
Seated Left to Right: Éamonn Creech (2000), Billy Walsh (1997), Brian Nolan (2006), Mick Meade (2008), Stephen Adderson, US Embassy, Tim Feldman, ISA Headquarters, Peadar Walsh (2003).
Back Row: LtoR: John Lotty (1992, 1993), Declan Lordan (1998), Brian Curtis (1999), Brendan Barry (1987), Bob Shine (1994), Liam McDonnell (1979, 1988), Jim Long (2007), Harvey Makim (1985), John Power (1981), Frank Maher(1986), Eoin Ó Riain (1984), Alan Edwards (2002), Kevin Dignam (2005), Martin Almond (2004).
(This and MORE PHOTOS courtesy of J.L. Communications)

Unable to be present were: Maurice Radford, Malachy Hanley, Éamon Cashell, Aidan Howard and Tony Mahon.
Deceased past Presidents are: Fred Gilroy (1977, 1990), Ger Dullea (1991) and John Farrell (1995) R.I.P

The 30th Anniversary of Charter Dinner which will be held on Saturday 8th November 2008 at the Maryborough Hotel Cork. Tickets will be priced at €75 each and the room layout will be for round tables of ten.
The intent of the dinner will be to recognise and honour thirty years of growth, development and consolidation by the ISA Ireland Section and especially the members who enabled such in the intervening period. The respective histories of the United States and Ireland are inextricably linked and receipt of our charter from ISA has inevitably led to increased interface between both countries. Increased globalisation has seen ISA expand from the United States into a truly worldwide organisation and the Ireland Section takes a very proactive and direct part in the functioning of ISA at European District level. This in turn has seen Ireland Section members consistently elected (against quite strong competition) to serve at both Corporate Board and European District level.
Section Awards down through the years
Guests to include:
Deputy Lord Mayor of Cork Cllr. Jim Corr.
Minister of Foreign Affairs Micheál Martin TD.
Commercial Counselor US Embassy Dr. Stephen J. Anderson
Mr Tim Feldman (for President ISA - Kim Miller Dunn).
Mr Alex Bobovitch (Russia), District 12 VP
Several important national and international figures have been invited including Government and civic leaders in Ireland and Automation professionals from both sides of the Atlantic.
The Membership has been a strong supporter of ISA Ireland Section activities throughout the past thirty years and early booking for this milestone event is advised to avoid disappointment.

Report in ISA InSights (Jan'09)(html)

Invitation from Section President (MS Word)

Menu(MS Word)

Schedule (pdf)

30th Anniversary of Charter Dinner

Date: HotelSaturday 8th November 2008

Venue: Maryborough Hotel Cork.

Tickets: €75 each on round tables of ten.

We have negotiated special rates with the Maryborough Hotel for the function at €49 per person sharing and €74 for single occupancy. Should you wish to avail of these rates, please contact the hotel reservations directly at (021) 4918307 quoting ISA as a reference.

Hugh Wilson, President ISA 1978/79, presents the charter to Fred Gilroy, First ISA Ireland Section President.
Picture shows left to right: Eddie O'Connell, Tom Nulty, Bob Shine, President Wilson, President Gilroy, Eddie Kenny, Dan O'Sullivan and maurice Radford.

30 Years ago! Were you there?
Guests in 1978
Silver Springs Hotel, Cork: 4th September 1978
Group charter presentation celebratory dinner:

LtoR back: M. Bryan, P. Lloyd, S. Mulcahy, P. J. Boner, J. D. Ryan, P. O'Rourke, K. Higgins, N. Kelly, F. Hornby, A. Howard, J. Power, F. Maher, D. Murphy, E. Ó Riain, C. Hegarty, P. Greenhalgh, J. Peel, R. Elliott, J. Dunne. Front: B. Shine, D. O'Sullivan, F. Gilroy, H. Wilson, E. Kenny, M. Radford, T. Nulty, E. O'Connell.

Historic Dates

28 September 1977:
Meeting of Steering Committee

14th November 1977:
Inaugural Meeting

29th June 1978:
Section chartered

4th September 1978:
Presentation of Charter

20th Anniversary Dinner (Celebrated in 1999!)