Honours & Awards 2012

President’s Address

I would like to welcome you all here this evening, to our 31st Annual Honours and Awards Ceremony. We hold this annual ceremony to acknowledge and encourage excellence for those training for careers in Instrumentation, Systems and Automation.

This year we have seven awards, three of which have been submitted by Third Level institutions and three industry awards and one award from ISA Publications Department. I would like to welcome the recipients and their families.

We are delighted each sponsor is represented here this evening, this clearly shows the industry’s awareness and support for promoting and awarding excellence.

I would like to thank University College Cork for allowing use this very elegant and historic Common Room. I hope you all have a very relaxed and enjoyable evening as we celebrate excellence in our industry. I would like to wish you and your families a joyful Christmas and a prosperous new year.

Lord Mayor of Cork Cllr. John Buttimer

I am delighted to be present here tonight to present the awards in this historical centre of education dating back to 1845. This occasion is intended to acknowledge and encourage excellence and achievement amongst those involved in, and those training for careers in automation, instrumentation and related areas of technology.

When people involved in such diverse areas of technology achieve excellence and in the process produce quality work, it is only right that we should publicly acknowledge such success.

I would like to wish the winners, their families, sponsors, and all present, a Joyful and Peaceful Christmas as we approach the season’s festivities.

Craft Person Award

Criteria: To be awarded, on the nomination of FAS training centres and / or Carlow Institute of Technology, to the best final year instrumentation Apprentice for notable academic and practical achievements in instrumentation.

Recipient: Mr. Andrew Houze, LOTUSWORKS, Sligo.

Nominated by: Mr. Jim Doyle, Senior Lecturer at Carlow Institute of Technology

Automation Champion Award

Criteria: To be awarded to a person in recognition of their contribution to the advancement of instrumentation, automation, IT or industrial system and / or technology in Ireland.

Recipient: Mr. Niall Cahalane, Glaxo SmithKline, Cork.

Nominated by: Mr. Brendan O’Regan, Zenith Technologies.

Degree Award

Criteria: To be awarded, on any nomination, to the best final year Degree student specializing in any area of instrumentation and Control.

Recipient: Ms. Geraldine Toner, Ballybrit, Galway.

Nominated by: Mr. John Cunningham, Life and Physical Sciences Galway Mayo Institute of Technology

Honours Degree Award

Criteria: To be awarded, on the nomination of any third-level institution, to the best fourth-year Honours Degree student studying Instrumentation / Applied Physics in Ireland. The award comprises a medallion and the Ger Dullea bursary of €750 which is to be used to assist postgraduate studies.

Recipient: Mr. Mark Casey, Youghal, Co. Waterford.

Nominated by: Dr. Liam Mc Donnell, Head of Department Dept. of App. Physics & Inst. Cork Institute of Technology.

Innovation Project Award

Criteria: To be awarded to any person or group in recognition of a new invention or application, significant achievement in contributing to instrumentation, automation, measurement and control technology within Ireland.

Recipients: Mr. Michael O’Driscoll, Astellas Ireland Co. Ltd

Nominated by: Mr. Philip Gammell, Project Technology Group Manager. Astellas Ireland Co. Ltd

ISA Publication’s Department – Keith Otto Award

Criteria: This award was established to give Society-wide recognition to members with no more than ten (10) years of accumulated membership, whose accomplishments and responsibilities has contributed significantly to the Society and its organizational units.

Recipient: Mr Dave Twohig, Gilead, Cork.

Nominated by: Ms. Susan Colwel, ISA Publication’s Department

Instrument Pioneer Award

Criteria: To be awarded, on the nomination of two or more Society Members, in recognition of a lifetime devoted to Instrumentation and Control in Ireland.

Recipient: Mr. John O’Sullivan. ESB (retired).

Nominated by: Mr. Bob Shine, Mr. Dan O’Sullivan.